Saturday, March 06, 2010

Association for Mormon Letters 2009 awards

Excerpts of Books: Association for Mormon Letters honors 14 winners by Ben Fulton, The Salt Lake Tribune

The Association for Mormon Letters has named 14 winners of its annual AML Awards.

Literary award winners are:
  • Best novel » Todd Robert Petersen, Rift
  • Best novel, honorable mention » Jamie Ford, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
  • Best drama » Melissa Leilani Larson, "Little Happy Secrets"
  • Best film » Jed Wells, "Fire Creek"
  • Best humor writing » Elna Baker, The New York Regional Mormon Singles Halloween Dance
  • Best memoir » Kathryn Lynard Soper, The Year My Son and I Were Born
  • Best online writing » Sandra Tayler, "One Cobble at a Time"
  • Best poetry » Lance Larsen, Backyard Alchemy
  • Best short fiction » Larry Menlove, "Path of Antelope, Pelican and Moon"
  • Best young adult novel » Carol Lynch Williams, The Chosen One
Service and achievement awards:
  • Publishing » Christopher Bigelow, owner of Zarahemla Books, publisher of Petersen's novel, Rift
  • Service to AML » Kathleen Dalton-Woodbury
  • Honorary Lifetime Membership » James D'Arc
  • Smith-Pettit Foundation Award for Outstanding Contribution to Mormon Letters » Levi Peterson

No comments: