Thursday, November 05, 2009

Gay Marriage law rejected in Maine

Maine election results: Gay marriage law rejected

Voters in Maine rejected a law on Tuesday that would have allowed same
sex couples to marry, and would have become the 6th state in the
country to allow same-sex marriages. In May, Maine legalized same sex
marriage and yesterday that law was repealed.

With perhaps one of the most anticipated results from the 2009
November election, many people waited to hear what would be decided.
At 2 am, with 87% reporting votes, opponents of same-sex marriage had
53% of the votes and supporters had 47%.

Maine voters are known for their independent minded views, and gay
rights activists were hoping for a positive outcome. Five states
currently support and perform gay marriages, Iowa, Connecticut,
Vermont, New Hampshire and Massachusetts. New York and Washington DC
recognize same-sex marriages, but do not grant them.

California was one of the first states to support gay marriages and
perform same-sex marriages, but then Proposition 8 was overturned,
which resulted in a national debate over the issue.

The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (also known as the
Mormon Church) has been one of the largest financial supporters
against same-sex marriage. They have been outspoken about their views,
and as a result many gay-rights activists have conducted protests in
Salt Lake City against the Mormon Church since Prop 8 was overturned.

No comments: