Thursday, August 03, 2006

Mormon Pioneer National Heritage Area

After over 6 years of effort, two Utah Heritage Areas receive National
Heritage Area designation.
The House approved a bill creating 10 national heritage areas —
including the Mormon Pioneer National Heritage Area, covering 250
miles along U.S. 89 between Fairview, Sanpete County and the Arizona
border; and the Great Basin National Heritage Route, between Delta,
Juab County and Ely, Nev.

The Division of State History has been the source of Heritage Area
grants and technical assistance for over 6 years, coupled with
partners from Utah Travel Council, Arts Council and Utah's Main Street
Program and many local leaders. In addition without the Leadership of
Sen. Bennett and Rep. Cannon this day would not have come to pass.

No comments: